China Tribunal: Final Judgement and Report 17th June 2019

The China Tribunal, chaired by Sir Geoffrey Nice, QC,  will deliver their final judgement at an upcoming event at the Grand Connaught Rooms, London on 17th June 2019 at 10am.

SCROLL DOWN TO REGISTER YOUR ATTENDANCE

The China Tribunal is an international, independent peoples tribunal, that has been established to determine what international law crimes, if any, have been committed by state or state-approved bodies, organisations or individuals in China that may have engaged in forced organ harvesting of prisoners of conscience.

Over the course of 12 months the China Tribunal have conducted the first ever robust analysis of all available evidence.  The Tribunal’s work has included the questioning of over 50 fact witnesses, experts, investigators and analysts over 5 days of public hearings in December 2018 and April 2019, the review of written submissions, investigative reports, and academic papers. They have also received expert legal advice on the relevant law. The material viewed by the Tribunal is currently being uploaded onto the China Tribunal website.

The proceedings for the delivery of judgment will commence at 10am, Monday 17th June at Grand Connaught Rooms in London (WC2B
5DA).

Due to the limited space available, please register your attendance:

1. ATTEND IN PERSON – REGISTER HEREhttps://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/china-tribunal-final-judgement-and-report-tickets-62408626883

OR

2. REGISTER TO VIEW THE EVENT ONLINE (via a live webinar platform) https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_5hdFgj5WTQGW5G-WvDcRGg

Timezones: 
London (BST) – 10am, Monday, 17th June
New York (EDT) – 5am, 17th June
Sydney (AEST) – 7pm, 17th June 
Vancouver (PDT) – 2am (early!), 17th June 
Brussels (CEST) – 11am, 17th June

 

Background Information
Forced organ harvesting is a form of organ trafficking. It is alleged that in China prisoners of conscience are killed for the purpose of removing one or more of their organs. The recipients of these harvested organs are Chinese citizens or international transplant tourists who travel to China and pay substantial sums to receive trafficked organs.

Within the Chinese transplant system, waiting times are said to be ‘extremely short by international standards and at times, transplants of vital organs (hearts, full livers) can be ‘booked’ in advance. The alleged victims of forced organ harvesting are primarily people who follow the Buddha School meditation practice of Falun Gong, possibly along with Uyghur Muslims (a Turkic ethnic group currently being detained in vast numbers in the Xinjiang region) and some Tibetan Buddhists and House Church Christians. These concerns have been raised with Chinese officials and Chinese medical practitioners on numerous occasions, each time with results that have been doubted by some. Those
supporting China’s medical practices claim that issues to do with unethical organ procurement have been resolved but have offered no clear evidence to support their claims. At times, Chinese medical professionals have appeared to dismiss questions about forced organ harvesting without addressing the substance of the allegations.

The Tribunal is chaired by Sir Geoffrey Nice QC, who worked at the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia – the ICTY – and led the prosecution of Slobodan Milosevic. Joining Sir Geoffrey are six panel members with backgrounds in international law, human rights, transplant medicine, international relations, Chinese history and business. The Tribunal was established by, but remains independent of, the International Coalition to End Transplant Abuse in China (ETAC), which is a registered charitable NGO.

Close Menu